• Education News

     Oldham students graduate from Georgetown College

  • Education News

     Oldham students chosen to attend event for agriculture leaders

  • Education News

    Local student musician selected to participate in music tour of Europe

    Katie Vilardell of Crestwood was recently selected to participate in the Kentucky Ambassadors of Music’s tour of Europe this summer.

    She has been a member of the South Oldham High School music program under the direction of Ryan McAllister.

    She is the daughter of Patrick and Shela Vilardell.

    Crain named to dean’s list at Murray State University

  • Investing in Oldham’s future

    The Oldham County Dollars for Scholars program, funded by local businesses and organizations, distributed 64 scholarships to 51 recipients, worth about $63,000 to local high school seniors Monday. Oldham County Dollars for Scholars scholarship donors and recipients include:

    • Buckner Elementary PTA, $500 scholarship to Edward Brady, an OCHS student planning to attend Wittenberg University to study biology and marketing/international studies;

  • Audit finds schools paid "reasonable" price in $2.7 million land deal

     A state auditor’s report concludes that Oldham County Schools paid a reasonable price — and did not offer kickbacks to developers — when members of the school board negotiated a nearly $2.7 million deal in October 2009 to acquire 112 acres of Brownsboro farmland for a future school site. 

  • Education News

    Oldham students named to dean’s list at University of Kentucky The University of Kentucky recently recognized several students from Oldham County named to the dean’s list for the fall semester.  Students from Pewee Valley named to the dean’s list include Kelli Brewer, a sophomore studying pre-accounting; Samuel Brewer, a junior studying economics; John Malueg, a sophomore studying undergraduate studies; Abby Shields, a freshman studying undergraduate studies; John Siegel, a sophomore studying undergraduate studies; and Jenna Smialek, a sen

  • Education News

    Local students named to dean’s list at Morehead

    Several students from Oldham County were named to the dean’s list at Morehead State University for the fall semester.

    Dean’s list students include Samantha Boone, Jacquelyn Finch, Tina Ward and Jordan Wuthrich from La Grange and Jennifer Fannin and William Fergason from Crestwood.

    To be named to the dean’s list at MSU, students must earn a 3.5 grade-point average.

    Hargis named to dean’s list at Otterbein College

  • 2009 Pyramid Awards

    The Pyramid Awards are teacher grants sponsored annually by the Oldham County Educational Foundation.

    For 2009, OCEF distributed $15,437.24 to fund 16 projects at 10 schools.

  • Peters selected as principal of Goshen Elementary School

    Members of Goshen Elementary School’s site-based decision-making council recently selected Lisa Peters as the school’s new principal.

    Peters has accepted the position effective July 1.

  • Local students compete in district governor’s cup

    Academic team members from all Oldham County middle schools and St. Aloysius recently competed at South Oldham Middle School during the district Governor’s Cup competition, an event sponsored by the Kentucky Association for Academic Competition.

    The Governor’s Cup features eight events, including future problem solving, quick recall, written composition, and five subject-area written assessment tests.