Three robotics teams qualify for state

-A A +A

Several teams from Oldham County Schools competed in the Engineers of Tomorrow FIRST Lego League Regional Tournament Dec. 6, with three teams qualifying for the state competition at Northern Kentucky University in January.

All three advancing teams are from Oldham County Middle school. The “Super Cinnamon Rolls” comprised of Wes Keown, Madeline Lanham, Jack Clark, Evan Cox and Gage Birchmeier also won the Inspiration Award. The “Flying Penguins” team comprised of Jacob Ratliff, Logan Roberts, Trivan Menezes, Drake Crosby, Finn den Ouden and Jacob Spruill also won the Mechanical Design Award. The final qualifying team from OCMS is the “Ferocious Little Dragons” team, with team members Megan Hodge, Robbie Dunn, Jake Lindeman, Abigail Lilienstern and Molly Guest.

In addition, the team from Buckner Elementary won the Leadership Award.

Students got a taste of what it is to program, present, lead and work together to accomplish a goal. Coaches spent untold hours helping them learn, and learning about robotics themselves.

In total, 13 teams representing all nine district elementary schools and 5 teams from two district middle schools competed. A total of 39 teams were registered for the event.

Next year, the goal is to grow the program to include all three district middle schools.

-Submitted info