School Briefs

-A A +A

Columbia College Grads

The following local students received degrees from Columbia College Chicago during commencement ceremonies held in May.

Juan Barrera from Crestwood received a BA degree in Arts Management.

Leslie Wishnevski also from Crestwood received a BA degree in Film & Video.

The College awarded undergraduate and graduate degrees to more than 2,000 students in six ceremonies with keynote speakers including author Jane Hamilton, musician Herbie Hancock, choreographer Lorenzo Harris, philosopher Martha Nussbaum, hospitality industry entrepreneur Joe Shanahan, artist Jessica Stockholder, writer/producer Robert Teitel and writer/producer/director George Tillman, Jr.


Green makes Dean’s List

Rebekeh Green from Prospect was named to the Dean's List at Villanova University for the spring 2013 semester. Green is studying Biology in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

Villanova University Dean's List recipients are honored by their college's respective dean. To qualify, one must be a matriculated full-time student and earn a semester grade point average of at least 3.5.The College of Nursing requires students to earn at least a 3.5 for the academic year.


Zabo Graduates

Zachary Zabo of Louisville graduated from California Lutheran University in May.

Zabo graduated summa cum laude with a Bachelor of Arts degree in political science and Bachelor of Science degree in criminal justice.

CLU is a selective university located in Thousand Oaks, Calif., with centers in Oxnard, Woodland Hills and Santa Maria for graduate courses and its Adult Degree Evening Program.


Carlson graduates

Chelsea Carlson graduated Magna cum laude in June 2013 from Harvard University.

She was inducted into the Phi Beta Kappa Society and named a Fulbright Scholar.  She departed this week to spend her Fulbright year in Seoul, South Korea conducting research on the role of women in Korean politics.

 In the Fall of 2014, Indiana University awarded her a teaching fellowship to continue graduate study there.


Local students, teachers shine at conference

Students from Kentucky chapters of the Family Career and Community Leaders of America (FCCLA) were among more than 7,000 members, advisers, alumni, and guests nationwide who gathered in Nashville, Tennessee, this summer for the 2013 National Leadership Conference. Kentucky sent 165 delegates to the annual conference.

This year’s student-originated theme was “Discover Your Voice.” Throughout the five-day convention, participants examined and discussed several critical issues, including family, school and community violence prevention, physical as well as financial fitness, future career exploration and countless community service projects.

A number of relevant youth issues, such as the changing roles of men and women in the home and workplace, leadership, and obesity prevention were also explored at the meeting through presentations, workshops, and youth sessions.  

Other meeting highlights included:

Diane Poe, South Oldham County was recognized with åthe Spirit of Advising

Susannah Frailey, recipient of the 2012 Japanese exchange program, presented a Youth Workshop entitled “Japanese Exchange Scholarship.” Her sister Rachel Frailey, who was in Japan at the time of the conference, was recognized as the 2013 Japanese exchange scholarship recipient. Both are from South Oldham High School.

More than 3,600 students competed in STAR Events (Students Taking Action with Recognition) which are competitive events that build proficiency and achievement in leadership and job-related skills. Kentucky had 85 students compete and won 31 Gold, 47 Silver and 7 Bronze. Individual school STAR Event winners from Oldham County were:

Arvin Technical Center

Bronze: Jessie Baird, Cameron Schoenbachler

South Oldham High School

Silver: Tiffany Brown, Schuyler Gray


St. Francis Theatre wins awards

Last summer, the St. Francis School Drama Project received its first-ever National Youth Arts Theatre nominations and awards for the 2010 production of The Taming of the Shrew.

This year, St. Francis earned four awards and 10 additional nominations this year in the 8th Annual National Youth Arts Awards for the 2012-2013season.


Lead Actor (Junior Division): Gabe Jackson as Cyrano de Bergerac in Cyrano de Bergerac

Lead Actress (Junior Division): Natalie Delautre as Emily Webb in Our Town

Lead Actress (Junior Division): Zoe Koss as Roxanne in Cyrano de Bergerac

Supporting Actress (Junior Division): Paige Didier as Mrs. Meers in Thoroughly Modern Millie


Outstanding Production: Cyrano de Bergerac

Lead Actor (Junior Division): Gilman Bagga as Stage Manager in Our Town

Lead Actor (Junior Division): Braden Barnett as George Gibbs in Our Town

Lead Actress (Junior Division): Sarah Bourlakas as Millie Dillmount in Thoroughly Modern Millie

Supporting Actress (Junior Division): Margot Bond as Mrs. Webb in Our Town

Featured Actor (Junior Division): Harrison Stites as Simon Stimson in Our Town

Featured Actress (Junior Division): Katie Heit as Muzzy Van Hossmere in Thoroughly Modern Millie

Ensemble: Cyrano de Bergerac

Ensemble: Our Town

Direction: Reed Gabhart for Cyrano de Bergerac

 St. Francis School cultivates a joyful, compassionate, intellectual community that celebrates individuality and inspires independent thinking for life.