Four vie to replace Prospect mayor

-A A +A

City council will meet Tuesday

By Drew Nichter

Three city council members and a former mayoral candidate are vying to become the next mayor of Prospect.

The city council will hold a special meeting 7 p.m. March 26 at Prospect City Hall to decide who will fill Todd Eberle's unexpired term.

A second meeting is planned  7 p.m. March 27 if the council does not reach a consensus.

Eberle resigned March 9 citing health issues and family obligations.

Four individuals have submitted their names for consideration to replace Eberle.

Three candidates – Sandra Leonard, Stuart Miles and Mike Scott – currently serve on the Prospect city council.

The fourth, Evan S. Comer, chairs the city's code-enforcement board. He was defeated by Eberle in the 2006 mayor's race.

Leonard is an attorney who has served on the city council since 2006.

Miles has also served as a council member since 2006. He is a manager for Jury Trial Science LLC in Louisville.

Scott is founder and owner of Kentucky Claims Service Inc. in Louisville. He has served on the city council since 2008.

Eberle was elected Prospect mayor in 2006 and re-elected in 2010.

He received the Elected Official of the Year Award from the Kentucky League of Cities, the Peyton Hoge Public Service Award from the Jefferson County League of Cities, and the Public Official of the Year Award from the National Arbor Day Foundation.