Chamber to honor Oldham Countian of the Year tonight

-A A +A
By Jacquelyn Stoess Hack

Oldham Chamber & Economic Development will announce this year’s Oldham Countian of the Year at a special celebratory dinner Tuesday at Soiree in La Grange.

This is the 47th year the Chamber has recognized an individual for their dedication and loyalty to Oldham County.  The Oldham Countian of the Year is a long-time tradition that recognizes an Oldham County business or community leader for service to Oldham County above and beyond their daily responsibilities or their commitment as a typical resident.

“Each year this event amazes me.  We received more than 10 nominations for this honor for the third year in a row,”  said Deana Epperly Karem, executive director of Oldham Chamber & Economic Development.  “This year, our honoree is someone that is not in the mainstream of politics, business or Chamber work.  The honoree is a lifelong Oldham Countian with a  passion for this community that is deeply ingrained in all that they do and stand for.  It is a title well deserved.”

The recipient of the Oldham Countian of the Year Award must be an Oldham resident, employed by and/or own an Oldham business, and make significant contributions to the growth, improvement and overall preservation of Oldham County through community service and volunteerism unrelated to the individual’s specific job responsibilities.

Past recipients include Clayton Stoess Sr (1971); Jim Hannah (1988), Bill Howard (1996); Fran Scott (2004); Joe McWilliams (2007); and Kurt Vezner (2010).

Oldham Chamber & Economic Development is responsible for business retention, expansion and attraction for the Oldham County community.  It represents nearly 400 member-businesses in the area and about 1,800 throughout Oldham County.  This annual recognition is a long-time tradition and recipients are selected by a panel of business and community leaders.

Tuesday's celebration is 5:30 to 7:30 p.m. Call 222-1635 for details.