• Local students named to president’s list at EKU

    For the spring semester, more than 700 Eastern Kentucky University students were named to the president’s list. 

    Students from Oldham County include Deven King of Crestwood, a sophomore studying biology and pre-veterinary science and Kayla Stewart of Crestwood, a senior studying elementary education.

    To be named to the president’s list at EKU, students must earn a 4.0 grade-point average for the semester.

  • Students earn awards from PTA Reflections Program

    Two students from South Oldham High School received state recognition from the Kentucky PTA Reflections Program. 

    Audrey Frailey received an award of excellence for her dance choreography and Lauren Moore received an award of excellence for her photography. 

    Both students will represent Kentucky in the national PTA Reflections program.

  • Flannery earns journalism award

    Susan J. Flannery, a teacher at North Oldham High School, has earned Certified Journalism Educator status from the Journalism Education Association.

    Flannery was honored with the status – recognizing her as an educator who realizes journalism is an academic subject requiring a qualified instructor – at the spring JEA convention in Arizona.

    Journalism certification recognizes teachers who meet national standards of preparation to teach high school journalism classes and advise student media.

  • SOHS journalism program named state’s best

    The South Oldham High School journalism program was named the best in the state at the Kentucky High School Journalism Association competition, garnering the Grand Champion award. 

    The broadcast students won first place for overall newscast, for individual documentary, for voiceover sport and for videography.

    The newspaper students won first place for editorial writing, review writing and for advertising.

  • Couvault graduates from University of Kentucky

    Nicholas Couvault, 22, of La Grange is a recent graduate of the University of Kentucky. He graduated summa cum laude with a bachelor’s degree in vocal music performance and a bachelor’s degree in arts business administration. He earned the Omicron Delta Kappa Maurice Clay Award for outstanding leadership and scholastic achievement. 

    He is a 2004 graduate of Oldham County High School. This summer, he will work for the Glimmerglass Opera Young Artists Program in Cooperstown, N.Y.

  • South Oldham Middle School social studies teacher honored

    Ron Adkisson, a teacher at South Oldham Middle School, is the Kentucky winner of the National Historian’s Teacher Award from the National Society of Daughters of Colonial Wars. 

    The organization recognizes teachers and leaders of youth organizations in each state for demonstrating good citizenship and patriotism and teaching children about Colonial American history.

  • North Oldham students accepted to governor’s scholars program

    The 2009 Governor’s Scholars includes several local students. From North Oldham High School, Caitlin Hagan, Austin Major, Kathleen Newman, Lauren Renaud and Rachel Richards will spend five weeks at Bellarmine University, Centre College and Morehead State University attending college-level classes.

    The program is open to high-achieving students entering their senior year of high school. The program is free.

  • SOHS Governor’s scholars students named

    The 2009 Governor’s Scholars include several local students. From South Oldham High School, Alyssa Badinger, Ashley Boerrigter, Timothy Boyles, Nicole Brown, Christine Dolin, Jennifer Gorce, Joshua Jennings, Whitney Menser, Anna Roederer, Garrett Shields, Austin Sipp, Katherine Taylor and Megan Ward will spend five weeks at Bellarmine University, Centre College and Morehead State University attending college-level classes.

    The program is open to high-achieving students entering their senior year of high school and is free.

  • Centerfield students earn Rising Star Award

    Two students from Centerfield Elementary — Leah Seward and Winston Jordan — earned recognition at the state level for the Christa McAuliffe Rising Star Award, recognizing students who have improved their grades, attendance and character.

    The award is given in honor of the late Christa McAuliffe, the teacher-turned-astronaut who died in the Challenger space shuttle.

  • Compton earns Pillars of Excellence award

    Odell Compton was recently recognized with Baptist Hospital Northeast’s Pillars of Excellence Award. 

    She was nominated because she saw a need for a wound/ostomy/incontinence nurse at Baptist Hospital Northeast through her work as a nurse on TCU. 

    She sought training, created her own position and wrote her own policies and procedures. She also set up the first preceptor program at Baptist Northeast.