Students from Oldham named Sen. Jeff Green scholars

-A A +A
By The Staff

By earning a 4.0 grade-point average all four years of high school and scoring a 28 or higher composite on the ACT, 52 students from Oldham County have been named Sen. Jeff Green Scholars.The title honors the late state Sen. Jeff Green of Mayfield, who served in the Kentucky General Assembly from 1992-97.

Oldham County High School students who earned the honor include Andrea Atkin, Annie Barry, Alyssa Cecil, Michael Gasser, Matthew Hogue, Sean Kruer, Brandon Kulengowski, Daniel Mattingly, Carolyn McBride, Kevin McKeel, Bradley Nakamura, Erik Pearson, Elizabeth Schaller, Aaron Smith, Dana Wesley and Kristofer Yaple.

Other Oldham students named Sen. Jeff Green Scholars include Austin Brownlow, a student at  Kentucky County Day school, Dara Stilger, a student at Sacred Heart, David George, Akash Gupta and Peter Meredith, students at St. Xavier High School and Travis Stewart, a student at Trinity High School.

As Sen. Jeff Green Scholars, these students are eligible for at least $2,500 a year in Kentucky Educational Excellence Scholarship awards.

KEES awards are funded by net Kentucky lottery proceeds and may be used at most colleges and universities in Kentucky. 

For information, visit www.kheaa.com