Education News

-A A +A
By The Staff

Local students named to dean’s list at Morehead

Several students from Oldham County were named to the dean’s list at Morehead State University for the fall semester.

Dean’s list students include Samantha Boone, Jacquelyn Finch, Tina Ward and Jordan Wuthrich from La Grange and Jennifer Fannin and William Fergason from Crestwood.

To be named to the dean’s list at MSU, students must earn a 3.5 grade-point average.

Hargis named to dean’s list at Otterbein College

Natalie Hargis of Goshen was named to the dean’s list at Otterbein College for the winter quarter.

Dean’s list students at Otterbein must earn a 3.6 grade-point average.

Hargis is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Jeffrey Hargis of Goshen.

Fleischmann selected to attend Gatton Academy

South Oldham High School sophomore Paul Fleischmann, son of Maria and Randall Fleischmann,  has been selected for the Carol Martin Gatton Academy of Mathematics and Science Class of 2012.

The Gatton Academy is located on the campus of Western Kentucky University.

Fleischmann is one of 61 students from 38 counties selected to attend the


Students finish their junior and senior years of high school living in Schneider Hall and taking courses offered by WKU. At the end of their two-year course of study, they will graduate from high school and have earned at least 60 college credit hours.

For information visit www.wku.edu/academy.

Oldham students named to dean’s list at University of Kentucky

The University of Kentucky recently recognized several students from Oldham County named to the dean’s list for the fall semester.

Students from Crestwood named to the dean’s list include Kelly Berger, a sophomore studying journalism; Travis Bertetto, a freshman studying pre-economics; Adam Boone, a senior studying economics; Meagan Chapman, a senior studying natural resource conservation and management; Regan Clauson, a senior studying political science; Allison Cusick, a freshman studying animal sciences; Elizabeth Dale, a freshman studying undergraduate studies; Carly Dennis, a senior studying elementary education; Dana Deptola, a senior studying finance; Kelsey Edelen, a junior studying music education; Jacob Nicholas Gamsky, a senior studying pre-mechanical engineering; Katelyn Hendricks, a freshman studying undergraduate studies; Joseph Kaseta, a sophomore studying pre-electrical engineering; Benjamin Kolder, a freshman studying architecture; Nicole Lively, a sophomore studying elementary education; Kassy Lum, a senior studying mechanical engineering; Ashle Motley, a senior studying social work; Emily Oechslin, a junior studying architecture; Peter Ostling, a sophomore studying human nutrition; Kathryn Pelletier, a sophomore studying psychology; Hope Pitman, a sophomore studying nutrition and food science; Ryan Pitts, a freshman studying pre-journalism; Lisa Rogers, a senior studying mechanical engineering; Michael Rundell, a freshman studying undergraduate studies; Stephanie Sipp, a senior studying communication disorders; Samantha Saracino, a senior studying journalism; Kelly Schumm, a sophomore studying pre-accounting; Brittany Shaver, a freshman studying biology; Aaron Smith, a freshman studying pre-journalism; Ryan Taylor, a sophomore studying pre-computer science; Anna Thompson, a senior studying merchandising, apparel and textiles; Mary Trimpe, a freshman studying pre-arts administration; James Tutt, a junior studying pre-finance; Rachel Ulrich, a sophomore studying pre-integrated strategic communication; Sarah Weis, a second-year pharmacy student; Rachel Wesley, a sophomore studying elementary education; Evan Wesley, a freshman studying undergraduate studies ;and Alex Williams, a freshman studying pre-computer science.