Education briefs

-A A +A
By The Staff

Local student awarded pre-medical scholarship

Caitlin Mullen, a senior at the University of Kentucky College of Arts and Sciences, studying biology, recently earned the Kash Senior Pre-Medical Scholarship.

Mullen is the daughter of Patricia Mullen and Daryle Mullen of La Grange. She plans to graduate from UK in May.

Myers joins NKU choir in international competition

Westport student Caleb Myers and the Northern Kentucky University Chamber Choir have been accepted to perform in the 2008 Busan International Choral Competition and Festival in Busan, South Korea, hosted by the Korean Choral Institute.

The competition will be Nov. 11 to 16. The ensemble, under the direction of Dr. Randy Pennington, will compete against 19 choirs from Russia, the Philippines, Indonesia, Hong Kong, China, Korea, Malaysia, Singapore and Bulgaria. The NKU Chamber Choir is the only choir from the United States selected to participate.

In addition to competing in the event, the choir will be featured in the Festival Gala Concert and present a series of concerts in Korea as a part of its tour.

Oldham students named to WKU dean’s, president’s lists

The following students from Oldham County made the dean’s list at Western Kentucky University for the spring semester:

Kathleen R. Ruff, Shaun E. Nichter, Matthew S. Koenig, Kristen E. Snyder and Hannah B. Grogan, of La Grange; Brooke E. Boldrick, Chelsea E. Brunner, Erin E. Eaton, Christopher R. Herrick, Megan E. Held, Alexander M. Cravens, Tracy L. Scherzer, Kristen E. Young, Carmen A. Trimpe, Melissa C. Grunow and Natalie M. Kimbell, of Crestwood; Catherine M. Jacoby, Kristen A. Dugan and Kirsten H. Belt, of Goshen; Ross D. Shircliffe of Pewee Valley; and Krysten Sewell of Westport.

Students on the dean’s list have a grade-point average of at least 3.4 and at least 12 hours of coursework for the semester.

The following students made the president’s list at Western Kentucky University for the spring semester:

Kellee R. Smith, Michelle M. McIntosh, Jessica G. Cole, Austin H. McBride, Caleb A. Howard, Morgan L. Earle and Amanda N. Ireland of La Grange; Jessica N. Nissen, Ashley C. Ladegast, Patricia J. Kelley, Christian V. Rogers, Shae K. Robinson, Carrie A. Law, Jolie R. Carwile, Jillian K. Droste, Rachel E. Kelley, Rachael M. Kalbfleisch, Richard W. Menard, Mandy L. Simpson, Christopher B. Cupp, Matthew D. Cooke and Regan R. Menard of Crestwood; Natalie J. Peak and Katelin E. Kovarovic of Goshen.

Students on the President’s List must have a GPA of at least 3.8 and at least 12 hours of coursework for the semester.