Dragons lead in awards

-A A +A
By Mickey Patterson

DRY RIDGE — South Oldham High School’s basketball teams led the way in post-season honors this year.

SOHS senior Jordann McGuffin was named the Kentucky Association of Basketball Coaches Player of the Year for the Eighth Region. She receives the automatic tryout for the Kentucky All-Star team for the annual summer series with Indiana.

Lady Dragons’ coach Frank Wright was named the KABC coach of the Year and Dragons’ coach Steve Simpson was named the Eighth Region Coaches Association Coach of the Year and the KABC coach of the year after guiding the Dragons to a school best 27-6 record and the regional finals.

“I always look at these as staff and team awards,” Simpson said. “I told the players there were a lot of expectations on this team and we met them. I felt like they made us look good as a staff.”

Wright guided the Lady Dragons to the district title and a 19-8 mark this season.

“It’s humbling to win,” Wright said. “I am very appreciative to be recognized by my peers whose opinion I respect greatly.”

With the awards, both Wright and Simpson will help pick the Kentucky All-Star team for the annual summer series with Indiana as part of a coaches’ advisory committee.

McGuffin leads a contingent of eight local players named to the all-region boys’ and girls’ teams this year as voted on by the region’s coaches.

Named to the boys’ team were SOHS’ Casey Jackson and Brice Jewett and North Oldham’s Alex Foley and Devon Rowan.

Jackson finished third in the voting for player of the year behind Anderson County’s Jacob Russell and Shelby County’s Donavon Johnson.

The 6-foot-4 Jackson led SOHS in scoring at 16.3 points a game and hit 63 of 144 from the three-point line for 44 percent.

Known as a finesse player through his career, Jackson showed his mettle in the regional finals when he played the second half with a gash over his eye that required stitches to close after the game. Jackson led SOHS with 22 points.

Jewett, a 6-foot-1 guard, averaged 11 points a game and was a deadly three-point threat hitting 52 of 139 for 37 percent.

Foley, a 6-foot senior guard, led the Mustangs to a 12-16 record and the regional tourney. A three-year starter, he averaged 18.6 points a game and hit 71 of 205 threes for 35 percent. It was his second time to make the team.

Rowan, a 6-foot-7, 250-pound sophomore had a breakout season averaging 16 points and 11 rebounds a game this year. He hit 67 percent from the field.

Girls’ team

McGuffin, a 5-foot-7 senior made the team for the second year.

McGuffin averaged 13.4 points a game  this season. She finished as the fourth leading scorer in SOHS history with 1,141 points. A three-year starter, McGuffin finished in the top ten career marks for SOHS in assists, steals and rebounds.

“Jordann had a great career and was a player you could count on to come through at the right time in big games,” Wright said.

McGuffin and Lape both played for the victorious West All-Star team of the state’s top seniors Saturday in Bowling Green. Both had four points in the West’s 79-75 win over the East team.

Whitfield, a 5-foot-11 sophomore, made the team for the first time after averaging 14.4 points, five rebounds and four steals a game this season.

Lape, a 5-foot-9 senior forward, had a banner season for the OCHS helping them to a 13-15 record and the regional tourney.

Lape set a new school scoring record this season with a 45 point outburst in a win over Spencer County. For the year, she averaged 15 points and six rebounds a game hitting 59 percent from the field.

Bryant, a 5-foot-10 sophomore guard, led the Lady Mustangs to a school best 14-10 mark this season. Bryant averaged 14 points a game.

Boys’ All-8th Region

Player of the Year

Jacob Russell - Anderson County

Donavon Johnson - Shelby County  

Casey Jackson - SOHS

Alex Foley - NOHS  

Boomer Beckley - Shelby County   

Zac Jones - Gallatin County   

Devon Rowan - NOHS  

Casey Sorrell - Simon Kenton 

Darryl Hicks - Shelby County   

Sawyer Williams - Owen County   

Conner Jeffries - Henry County   

Jordan Ponzer - Walton-Verona  

Logan Dunbar - Spencer County   

Jordan Shelton - Owen County   

Brice Jewett - SOHS

Girls’ All-8th Region

Player of the Year

Sydni Wainscott - Simon Kenton        Rianna Gayheart - Owen County

Kelli Dixon - Walton-Verona

Jasmine Whitfield - SOHS        Hannah Devine - Carroll County        Sydney Brown - Anderson County

Aaliyah Wells - Shelby County        Jordann McGuffin - SOHS        Brooke Hill - Gallatin County        Tori Wilhoit - Williamstown        Emily Lape - OCHS

Courtney Sandlin - Walton-Verona        Kelsey Mings - Henry County        Erial McKee - Anderson County        Nicole Bryant - NOHS

E-mail us about this story at: sports@oldhamera.com.