Business Briefs

-A A +A

Haselton Appointed

Gov. Beshear has appointed the following members to the Education Commission of the States to serve at the pleasure of the Governor: W. Blake Haselton, of LaGrange, is dean of the College of Education at the University of Louisville. The appointment replaces Bonnie L. Freeman.

Walker awarded

On September 11, the Greater Louisville Association of Realtors awarded Colleen E. Walker of Kentucky Select Properties the prestigious President’s Award.  

The award “honors an individual that ... has been truly outstanding in his/her contributions to the Association.”  

Walker has been recognized on numerous occasions since becoming a licensed realtor in December 1997.  A resident of Oldham County, Walker was elected for a three-year term to the MSI Board of Directors and is currently the Chair for the MSI Improvement Committee.

Kenney joins staff

Nicholas Kenney, MD, orthopedic surgery, has joined Baptist Northeast Orthopedics, part of Baptist Surgical Associates. He will see patients at 1023 New Moody Lane, Suite 102, La Grange; and 2400 Eastpoint Pkwy., Suite 110, at Baptist Health Eastpoint near Anchorage.

Nicholas Kenney, MD, is a 2007 graduate of the University of Louisville School of Medicine. He completed his orthopedic surgery residency at the University of Florida in Gainesville in 2012. Dr. Kenney recently completed an orthopedic surgery sports medicine fellowship at the University of Kentucky.

Officers awarded 

The Kentucky Department of Corrections honored employees across the state at its annual Corrections Awards Luncheon held Sept. 4 in Lexington.

The agency’s top awards, called “Commissioner’s Awards,” were presented to: Brian McGuire, property branch section supervisor; Darin Hunter, lieutenant, Roederer Correctional Complex; Hezzie Turner, lieutenant, Luther Luckett Correctional Complex (LLCC); Cheri Kraus, administrative branch manager, Kentucky Correctional Industries; Jennifer Westphal, corrections regional education administrator, LLCC; David Short, probation and parole officer, District 10; Benjamin Wells, assistant supervisor, District 20; Lisa Craigmyle, accountant III, Kentucky State Reformatory (KSR); Brian Melvin, probation and parole officer, District 11; Stephen Ison, corrections education administrator, LSCC; and Wayne Pearson, justice program specialist, KSR.